The National Valuation and Authorization Council (NAAC) was established in 1994 as UGC independent body. NAAC accreditation for colleges is an essential part of the functioning of higher education institutions in India. NAAC accreditation is mandatory for all the higher learning institutes in India and only NAAC-accredited universities in India are eligible for UGC grants.

Table of Content
Importance of NAAC AuthorizationDetailed Benefits of NAAC Accreditation for Institutions
Benefits of NAAC Endorsement for StudentsHow do Schools and Universities get NAAC Accreditation?
NAAC Limits/ IndicatorsNAAC Marking System
Cycles of NAAC AuthorizationNAAC Re-Assessment
Total Number of NAAC Authorizations (as on 26/09/2018)Grade Wise Number of NAAC Accredited Institutes in India (as on 26/09/2018)
Top NAAC Credited Colleges in IndiaTop NAAC Credited Universities in India

Read in detail about the National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) here below. 

Importance of NAAC Accreditation

Also read:- BBS SYLLABUS

NAAC authorization is mandatory for all the higher learning institutes, particularly state colleges. Without NAAC authorization, colleges are not qualified for UGC grants, RUSA fundings, monetary aid etc. On the other hand, NAAC authorization determines the quality of the institute in terms of education, substructure, research, education & learning etc. Organizations with top NAAC grades such as ‘A++’, ‘A+’ and ‘A’ are most sought-after institutes, as they offer high-quality teaching. On the other, all the documented institutes of UGC must apply for NBA/ NAAC/ any other accreditation after the conclusion of the first or second batch of courses. 


Detailed Benefits of NAAC Accreditation for Institutions

Here are some of the major benefits of NAAC accreditation –

  • NAAC approval helps the higher learning governments to know its strengths, chances, and faintness through an informed review process.
  • NAAC identifies the inside areas of training and allocation of resources.
  • NAAC approval will help funding agencies with neutral data so that they can take a choice on the backing of higher education institutes.
  • NAAC grade/ cunning will help instructive institutes to initiate modern or ground-breaking methods of pedagogy.

In all, NAAC is one of the main approval agencies in India, which is compulsory for all the higher knowledge institutes. 

Benefits of NAAC Accreditation for Students

In modest terms, NAAC approval or grade of a higher information group will help the academic to figure out all the facts about the group such as quality of education, research output, teaching-learning, substructure etc. NAAC grade helps scholars to choose the best organization based on its NAAC grade/ presentation in the NAAC authorization process. NAAC grade also controls the value of degree obtainable by the higher knowledge institutes. 

How do Colleges and Universities get NAAC Accreditation?

NAAC grades and measures higher learning organizations through a three-step process. All the colleges and schools allied to UGC are qualified for NAAC accreditation. However, it is the responsibility of the institutes to apply for NAAC accreditation. All the details pertaining to the NAAC certification process, performance pointers/ parameters, the grading system and re-assessment are expounded below.

NAAC Grading Criteria & System

Before going fast with the NAAC Marking system, it is significant to have a look at the limits/ indicators of NAAC calculation and authorization course. 

NAAC Parameters/ Indicators

NAAC measure the higher knowledge institutes founded on the following limits or indicators –

  • Teaching-Learning & Evaluation
  • Infrastructure & Learning Resources
  • Research, Innovations & Extension
  • Curricular Aspects
  • Governance, Leadership & Management
  • Student Support & Progression
  • Institutional Values & Best Practices 

NAAC Grading System

Higher knowledge institutes in India are classified for each key aspect/ limit under four dissimilar categories such as ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, and ‘D’. The NAAC grade means the presentation of organizations such as very good, good, acceptable, and inacceptable. The overall score for all the key features under an exact criterion is intended with weightage applied to it, and the GPA is functioned out for the standard. The CGPA provides the final outcome of the valuation, which is then intended from the seven GPAs of key limits mentioned above. More details are expounded below.

CGPA (Cumulative Grade Point Average)GradeStatusPerformance of Institute
3.51 – 4.00A++CreditedVery Good
3.26 – 3.50A+CreditedVery Good
3.01 – 3.25ACreditedVery Good
2.76 – 3.00B++CreditedGood
2.51 – 2.75B+CreditedGood
2.01 – 2.50BCreditedGood
1.51 – 2.00CCreditedSatisfactory
Less than 1.50DNot CreditedUnsatisfactory 

Cycles of NAAC Accreditation

Higher learning organizations that undergo NAAC valuation for the first time is mentioned as Cycle 1, and the uninterrupted five-year periods as Cycle 2, Cycle 3 etc. 


NAAC credited higher learning organizations seeking an improvement in the accredited rank may apply for re-assessment. Though, the institutes are permissible to apply for reaccreditation at least one year after (but not more than three years). 

For further information:- Education in India


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here